I’m in Trouble: The Melt Shop Grilled Cheese in NYC

1 Aug

Uh oh. Yesterday, I noticed a new place is opening up across the street from my work. Eagerly, I walked over to check it out. It’s going to be a Grilled Cheese store called “The Melt Shop”. What! I love grilled cheese! Who told them I was trying to be healthy and then placed a delicious, gooey, cheese and carb filled goodness so close?

Their website claims it serves “hand crafted, extra cheesy, super delicious comfort food” and the “best grilled cheese on the planet.” Looking at their menu it certainly looks that way. They have everything from a truffle melt, buttermilk fried chicken grilled cheese, to classic grilled cheese with tomato soup and an arnold palmer. The Melt Shop will also be serving breakfast… yum.

Grilled Cheese with hoisin

Grilled Cheese with hoisin (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Then, I thought, at least they don’t have milkshakes. Nope. Wrong again. My other arch-nemesis appears on the menu. Flavors include: cookies and cream, coffee crunch, peanut butter & jelly, vanilla maple, orange creamsicle, and my absolute favorite chocolate peanut butter.

Now, my only hope is that this Melt Shop is really bad. Or, somehow doesn’t open. Maybe I can convince myself that it doesn’t exist.

Do you like grilled cheese? What’s your favorite kind? With tomato? ham? classic?

3 Responses to “I’m in Trouble: The Melt Shop Grilled Cheese in NYC”

  1. journey2skinnyin1yr August 1, 2012 at 12:16 pm #

    I love grilled cheese! I think that the only way to handle this is to limit yourself.. don’t deny yourself, because then you will over-indulge.. but give yourself a limit. Like enjoy one from the kid’s menu every so often, or less frequently from the regular menu. Another tip I would try.. on the days that you are going to eat there.. eat a good, filling breatfast (like oatmeal) and 1/2 hour before you go there to eat, drink about 8 ounces of water and eat a salad. That way you can have the yummy grilled cheese and will not eat as much. Stay strong in your journey!

    • lifebeginsat30sum August 1, 2012 at 7:24 pm #

      Ha! Of course that happened! That is just my luck also. I would have an issue if they put a Cheesecake Factory or some other bakery across the street. That’s my weakness! Ahhh being healthy is tough stuff! Good luck girl! You can do it!

  2. cfandthecity August 2, 2012 at 12:31 am #

    Hi! I’ve nominated you for the Liebster award on my blog post: http://cfandthecity.wordpress.com/2012/08/02/liebster-award/

Leave a comment