Endurance & TurboFire Fire 45 EZ/ Fire 55 EZ Workouts

31 Jul

I’ve never had very good endurance. When I ran indoor track & field (I was actually good! I know that’s probably hard to believe.) I was a sprinter, of the very shortest distances. The 55 meter dash was always my specialty and the 4×200 meter relay was about my limit. Asking me to run the 4×400 meter relay was just trouble. I simply don’t know how to pace myself… and have never been in good enough shape to be able to sprint all out for very long.

English: Harvard University Gordon Indoor Track

English: Harvard University Gordon Indoor Track (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

TurboFire has two workouts that have this lovely little “EZ” at the end. Let’s get this straight right away. They are not easy. And, they also aren’t very similar so I’m not exactly sure what the EZ even indicates. Except, for me, I know when that’s on my schedule I’m going to have a tough night.

TurboFire Fire 45EZ is the worst. There are no Fire Drills in it, and I guess I’ve really come to rely on the 30 second to 1 minute recovery time after them. It’s strange how I’d rather push myself 110% for 15 or 20 minutes like in the HIIT (high intensity interval training) classes, then to keep going at a moderate-difficult cardio pace for 45 minutes.

TurboFire Fire 55EZ isn’t quite as bad, but certainly isn’t my favorite. This one has a couple (I think three) drills in it, which helps me. There is also some significant cool down (finale combos) that take up a chunk of time at the end.

My personal take away message from these “EZ” workouts is that I really need to work on building my endurance. But, I still think they should change the deceiving name!

Do you have good endurance? What are some of your favorite ways to improve it?

One Response to “Endurance & TurboFire Fire 45 EZ/ Fire 55 EZ Workouts”

  1. CoachMandyThomas July 31, 2012 at 11:18 am #

    Totally agree! I did indoor and outdoor track and field too but I completed in the field competition!

Leave a Reply

