That’s it! Thursday: Do You Have To Take That Short-Cut?

23 Aug

One of the great things about living in NYC is the vast amount of walking you do on a daily basis simply due to the fact that you live here. My apartment is a ten minute walk to the subway- just under a mile. So, I walk at absolute minimum 2 miles a day. But why do I find myself cutting through a parking lot to make my walk shorter?

Do I really need to get there that little bit faster? Am I truly too lazy to walk around the parking lot instead of diagonally through it?

I hadn’t really thought about it. But, this morning on my way to work a light bulb went off. It doesn’t make any sense to be working out and trying to incorporate more fitness into my life, but yet keep taking short cuts on my regular routes. I was completely doing it out of habit!

Therefore, for this That’s it! Thursday, I’m going to work on being more conscious of “lazy” habits that I’ve developed—and no longer cut through that parking lot. I can totally walk around it and build up those extra steps. Every little bit helps!

How do you try to incorporate fitness into your everyday life? Park in the back of the parking lot? Do calf raises at your desk at work? I’d love to hear!

One Response to “That’s it! Thursday: Do You Have To Take That Short-Cut?”

  1. leannenalani August 23, 2012 at 10:37 am #

    I use a pedometer and march in place while watching TV. I also park far away from my classroom at work. It must be a good 2-minute brisk walk. One of my co-workers made his desk a standing one, but that’s a bit much for me. Teachers tend to stand and walk around a lot anyway.

Leave a Reply

