Spreading Myself Too Thin

14 Aug

Warning: this post is kind of whiny–

But, If I’m being brutally honest (and there’s no reason not to be here, right?) I’ve been exhausted lately.  I think I’m spreading myself too thin and I feel like there aren’t enough hours in the day to do all that I want to do.

Try as I might, I can’t add more hours. So, I’ve got to do something about this. I can’t keep going the way I am or I know I’m going to burn out. And, importantly, I’m not letting my working out go to the wayside. Something else has to budge instead because getting healthier is way too important, not only right now, but for the rest of my life. I have to move that up on the priorities list and decide what is a bit lower down that I can cut out.

Nevada shore of Lake Tahoe around the barge li...

Nevada shore of Lake Tahoe around the barge line and terminus of the flume (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Sometimes I think I can do everything. But, I’m tired. I can’t. Something’s got to give.

Sorry for the lack of positivity in my post today, but I’m hoping that the honesty makes up for it?

5 Responses to “Spreading Myself Too Thin”

  1. Cassy August 14, 2012 at 9:55 am #

    Just have to prioritize things. Get up a little earlier in the morning to squeeze in a small work out or just have a moment to center yourself for the day. Learn to say no to things when you really don’t have the time to squeeze in more. You definitely can’t do everything all the time or you will run yourself into the ground… and then you will end up cheating and not being healthy because junk food is just so easy…

    • SweetAccountability August 18, 2012 at 8:26 pm #

      I really like what you said about having a moment to center yourself for the day. I think I’m going to try to incorporate that– thanks for the suggestion!

      • Cassy August 20, 2012 at 8:34 am #

        Yup! Take 3 deep breaths. For the first breath, count to 3, and then release the breath counting to three. For the second breath, breathe in a little slower and count to 4. And for the third one is slowest of all, count to five.

        If you don’t feel a little less overwhelmed and relaxed, do it again. Your breath can actually give away a lot to how you are feeling. It becomes shallow when you get stressed and overwhelmed. But you can trick your body into thinking you are relaxed with just focusing on your breathing. =D

  2. Meagan August 14, 2012 at 7:18 pm #

    I hate saying no, but it’s something I’ve had to become a bit better at over the past few months…as much as that sucks

    • SweetAccountability August 18, 2012 at 8:24 pm #

      It does suck, but I guess when you make a conscious effort of doing it more often, it’s helped? I hope it helps me too!

Leave a Reply

