That’s It! Thursdays: I Am Not Scared Of My Diabetes

9 Aug

“Our medical records indicate that you may have diabetes. And it’s up to you to manage it. If you don’t, the consequences can be serious and life threatening.

No joke. That’s the first line of the letter from my insurance company that I came home to last night. Really? Is that supposed to motivate me to get healthier? To sign up for their “Diabetes Control Program” that they say is a personal health campaign?

Maybe some people. But not me. I’ve never been very motivated by fear, or threats, for that matter. All the POSITIVE things that can come about from me becoming a stronger, healthier, and happier person are what gets me moving. By making myself a priority and understanding my current health status and future goals, I can move forward.  Fear makes me freeze in place. It paralyzes me. It makes me feel like what I have is a death sentence. But in reality, I know it isn’t. For me, my diagnosis was a second chance– a reality check if you will.

“Get Healthy” Diabetes Threat Letter from my Insurance

And really, don’t you think I already know that when not managed diabetes can have terrible consequences?  Is this really supposed to be some sort of eye-opener for me?  Not quite. Everyone knows that.

But what many people don’t know is that when managed, a person with diabetes can live a healthy, happy long life.  If this letter started with that– maybe tempting me with learning better ways to be successful instead of threatening me to be compliant, I could have potentially taken it seriously. Instead, I find it almost insulting. Don’t worry though. I’ll make today a good day– I’ll work out, eat healthy, take my medicine, and check my blood sugars. I’ll be a model of good health. Not because of you, though, insurance company. Because of me. For me. For my loved ones. So, for this That’s It! Thursday, I’m focusing on the positive results I can have by managing my diabetes well– rather than the negative things that could come about should I decide not to take care of myself.  I need to focus on my goals and how to achieve them. That’s how I’ll move forward.

3 Responses to “That’s It! Thursdays: I Am Not Scared Of My Diabetes”

  1. leannenalani August 9, 2012 at 11:24 am #

    I think that letter is insulting. It’s not like you aren’t aware of the situation. And coming from your insurance company is pretty rude. I guess I’m not surprised because some of them tend to give financial consequences for stuff like that.

  2. KaraLoraine August 12, 2012 at 8:25 pm #

    I agree that the letter is totally insulting, not to mention it could traumatize someone that was already scared by their new health status. I’m glad you’re taking it with a grain of salt and stickin’ it to them! 🙂

    • SweetAccountability August 18, 2012 at 8:27 pm #

      Thank you as always for the support! I’m glad I’m not the only one who took it that way… I was thinking I might have been overreacting.

Leave a Reply

