Goal Setting & Rewards: Weight, A1C, Inches…

30 Jul

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about setting distinct goals and rewards for myself as I move forward on this journey. I think it would be helpful to help give me benchmarks to strive for and ways to celebrate.  There are multiple schools of thought about whether or not people should set milestone rewards for themselves when it comes to weight loss. Personally, I don’t see these as motivators. I don’t see them as incentives. I see them as rewards– plain and simple. Celebration for a job well done and for accomplishing what I set out to.

Speaking of which– goals are another story all together. I haven’t yet figured out what my long term goal weight is. I have goal A1C’s for my blood sugar, which I set with my doctor. I don’t have goals for inches as I’m not sure exactly where I will feel most comfortable. That leaves me with short term weight loss goals, which I’m okay with.  Now, we all know that goals are supposed to be SMART: Specific, Measurable, Attainable, Realistic, and Time Bound.  I have trouble with the time bound part.

So far, I have the following goals planned:

  • Lose 15 pounds by the end of 3 months of TurboFire– Sunday, November 4th.
Polar heart rate monitor
Polar heart rate monitor (Photo credit: ario_)

And the following rewards:

  • Ten pounds down: Heart rate monitor (I’m hoping for a nice one, like a Polar).
  • Fifteen pounds down: Professional 1 hour Massage and a special weekend Bed & Breakfast getaway.

Do you set goals or rewards for weight loss? If so, what are they?

2 Responses to “Goal Setting & Rewards: Weight, A1C, Inches…”

  1. KaraLoraine August 1, 2012 at 12:31 am #

    I should set rewards for some of my smaller goals, and I don’t know why I haven’t yet. I think it’s great to treat yourself for sticking to an exercise/weight loss plan when it’s honestly so much easier to NOT stick to them. And a reward that you can use to further promote this lifestyle is my favorite — like your reward of a Polar. I have a Polar FT4 and I love it. I think maybe my reward will be some new cooking tools, like a fancy crock pot that I have my eye on. 🙂

    • SweetAccountability August 1, 2012 at 7:22 am #

      I think the smaller goals really help break it up– otherwise if I sit here and thing about the huge chunk of weight I want to lose, it’s sort of overwhelming. But, if I can strive for 5-10 pounds at a time it seems more manageable, you know? Crock pots are great! I think that’d be a fantastic reward.

Leave a Reply

