FIRE Drills: High Intensity Interval Training (HIIT)

25 Jul

One thing is for sure– HIIT drills are not for the faint of heart. They let you push yourself harder than you thought you could go. And, as the familiar adage goes– when you push your body out of your comfort zone that’s when you begin to see change.

Let’s back up for a minute. What is this HIIT (High-Intensity Interval Training) non-sense? As some of you know, I’ve started TurboFire. At the heart of the TurboFire workout series are Fire Drills.  When the siren goes off, that’s when you k now you’ll be working at the utmost intensity for the next 30 seconds to a minute. At the end, you’ll be kindly rewarded with 30-40 seconds of rest as recovery time (but, don’t you dare stop moving!). According to the wikipedia on the subject, usually HIIT cardio sessions last between 9-20 minutes. The HIIT workouts in the TurboFire series seem to follow that, so far.

US Navy 050215-N-8796S-068 Chief Hospital Corp...

(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

It also is supposed to give you the following benefits: improved fat burning and increased glucose metabolism. (If you’re interested in reading more about HIIT and it’s relationship to Type 2 Diabetes, I’d highly recommend the article at Precision Nutrition which you can find here.) I like how that sounds.  In fact, Chalene Johnson often says during the videos that you burn 9x the amount of fat. I’m no expert so I certainly don’t know about that, but I do like the challenge. I also like how much bang for your buck in terms of time that you get. We all try to cram so many things in our day– but can I really not find 15 minutes for one of these workouts? Even I, master of excuse making, have trouble with that one. So, I do. And by the way, you’ll feel so good when it’s over.

Have you ever done a HIIT workout? What did you think?

3 Responses to “FIRE Drills: High Intensity Interval Training (HIIT)”

  1. CoachMandyThomas July 25, 2012 at 2:49 pm #

    I love HIIT workouts! I love the feeling of knowing that the sweat rolling down my face, back, arms, legs, and butt are really the fat cells crying because I am working the heck out of them! LOL! Keep up the good work!

    • SweetAccountability July 25, 2012 at 10:06 pm #

      Fat cells crying, I love that! I love how intense the HIIT workouts are, no denying that you’re working hard and you’ve really got to give it your all!

  2. CoachMandyThomas July 26, 2012 at 9:55 am #

    No kidding! I think my next workout I may try Insanity?!? I did one of the workouts at a fit club that I sponsor and I about died! That was so insane and crazy. After I checked my heart rate monitor and calorie burner, it said I burnt 800 calories doing one insanity workout! that is crazy!

Leave a Reply

