Superficial Motivations For Getting Healthy

24 Jul

Not going to lie, some days I’m totally motivated to eat healthy and work extra hard in the gym– all for the sake of my health. Other times, it’s more of a struggle. And, I have to think about something else to convince myself to go through with it. Whether it is making that healthy lunch choice, or doing that cardio workout even though your tired (and lazy); sometimes, I’m just not up to it.

So, what pushes me on days like that? Is it the desire to be skinny? Is it that cute bathing suit I’d love to look stunning and feel confident in?

Nope. It’s the engagement ring in my future.

Wedding Dress For Happy Couple in Love

(Photo credit: epSos.de)

Ever since my significant other and I have been discussing our timeline for engagement I’ve (of course) been ecstatic. But, nagging in the back of my head has been the fact that I really don’t want to spend so much money on a ring in god knows what size (honestly, I don’t know my ring size) just to have to pay to get it resized down the road. Let’s not even think about the wedding dress at this point. I can’t picture that “perfect day” and all that comes along with it while I’m in the state I currently am. It’s sort of hard to explain.

Is it bad to be motivated by superficial motives like this? What about if they coexist with “healthier” motives? I mean, in the society we live in, can we really ask ourselves to eliminate these as motives all together? I don’t think so.

But, I know tonight I’m working out with that wedding dress in mind, not my blood pressure. Whatever gets me moving, right?

7 Responses to “Superficial Motivations For Getting Healthy”

  1. Nel July 24, 2012 at 2:02 pm #

    Your post made me smile. As long as you’re not trying to live off of iceberg lettuce, I think a smaller ring size is a good goal. 🙂

    My “superficial” motive for healthy eating is the knowledge that less healthy meals will give me less than satisfactory blood sugar results. Take this morning for example: I really wanted a sausage biscuit, so I had one. Two hours and 76 blood sugar points later, I regretted my decision. I felt fine, but I hated how that number looked on the meter.

    Exercise sometimes takes a little more bribery. (Recently this bribery has taken the form of a pair of cute yoga pants and a good audiobook.)

  2. KaraLoraine July 25, 2012 at 11:38 am #

    I think superficial motives are a necessary evil. Mine? 1.) To look good in a pair of short shorts. The *really* short kind. 2.) So I can take boudoir photos for my SO (and for me, just to feel sexy). My friend from college is incredibly talented and offers a discount if clients let her advertise using the pictures. That’s the level of brave I want to be whenever I take them.

    • SweetAccountability July 25, 2012 at 10:15 pm #

      Necessary Evil, I like that. I bet a boudoir photo shoot would be a ton of fun! Do you have a certain “goal” point in which you’re going to reward yourself with that? Or just when you feel ready?

  3. journey2skinnyin1yr July 27, 2012 at 12:20 pm #

    I think we all have to have motives – I don’t think any of them are truly superficial; as long as they are helping to put you on the path to being healthier. On the other side, do NOT put off living life – such as accepting that proposal, getting married, etc. – waiting for the right moment could very well equal life passing you by. Don’t let that happen to you – live life to the fullest every day! You never know when your last day is … so live each and every day as if it is your last – squeeze every drop of happiness out of it as you can.

  4. fuelingthefurnace July 30, 2012 at 1:38 am #

    I don’t think your upcoming wedding is a wrong motivator to keep in mind! The bigger challenge is maintaining that lifestyle AFTER the event (especially since settling down is such a lovely excuse to indulge a bit… 🙂 Good luck!

    • SweetAccountability July 31, 2012 at 7:19 am #

      Thank you! We’ve been living together for about a year now so I feel like I’m already fighting that “settling down” lifestyle– I can only imagine how much worse it’ll be after we’re officially married. Oh boy!

Leave a Reply

