Why I Quit Gymnastics At Age Five

16 Jul

When I was little, I was signed up for gymnastics. I remember fondly swinging around the metal bars and liking that I got to wear my hair in pig tails.

But, I wasn’t doing gymnastics for long. My mom offered to buy me a brand new Barbie and a chocolate ice cream cone in exchange for no longer going to gymnastics class. (I guess I wasn’t very good!)

Chocolate ice cream

Barbie + Chocolate Ice cream > Gymnastics

To this day, my gut reaction is still to pick the chocolate ice cream over most anything.

However, I think I’m finally getting to the place that while I admittedly still will indulge occasionally, I won’t  pick it over my health. Really, is eating that giant ice cream every night worth me having to answer to my doctor about why my A1C level is so high this time around? More importantly, is it worth all the complications that can come along with living with Diabetes? (Accountability, remember?)

Once upon a time, I chose that ice cream over exercise. I know that it wasn’t the last time I did so. But now, when I have a bad day, I think about my choices.  And, I’m beginning to train my mind and body to truly believe that:

Ice cream < Work out 

What food do you like to come home to at the end of a long day?

Leave a Reply

