My Sugar Levels After Exercise/TurboFire Day 1

15 Jul

One thing I love about working out (and trust me, I don’t particularly love working out) is that it makes me much more accountable about my food intake for the rest of that day.

Why would I want to eat this giant piece of chocolate cake after I just worked so hard?

Devil's food cake with vanilla bean icecream.

Devil’s food cake with vanilla bean icecream. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Well, I’ll tell you why. My sugar levels go crazy after I exercise.

I haven’t quite figured out the effect exercising has on my body’s blood sugar levels. But I swear, when I’m done exercising all I want is  some chocolate cake. Mentally, it doesn’t make any sense. Physically, my body is craving it. I’m thinking it might have something to do with me needing to more conscious of my blood sugar levels and what I’m eating before working out.

I guess that’s another question to add to my list for my next appointment. What should I be eating after I work out (I know, I know, not the delicious chocolate cake!)? How about before?

Do you eat before you work out?

As for Turbofire, it’s tough. It’s similar to TurboJam, but almost like I hit fast forward by accident.

I’m excited to see how it will transform my body.  I certainly wouldn’t want anyone to watch me doing it though– I’m definitely not that coordinated. At times I wanted to burst out laughing rather than actually attempt to do what they were racing through on the screen. For the parts I couldn’t quite catch on to I made sure to just keep my heart rate up. I’m excited to see where this will go and hopeful that I can stick with it. I need to.

3 Responses to “My Sugar Levels After Exercise/TurboFire Day 1”

  1. lifebeginsat30sum July 31, 2012 at 5:07 pm #

    I have sugar issues also, so I totally understand. I ended my work out with a banana today because my body was in serious need of something when I was done in order to even out!

    • SweetAccountability August 1, 2012 at 12:23 pm #

      It’s so interesting how sometimes you need it, and sometimes you don’t. I guess we need to make sure we’re always listening to our bodies!

Leave a Reply

