Today I Start TurboFire!

15 Jul

Living in NYC, gyms are very expensive. Okay, maybe that’s just another excuse.

The real reason I don’t like the gym is that I’m really just not comfortable there right now.  I know no one is paying attention and everyone is too busy worrying about themselves to notice you, but I just feel really self conscious and out of place.

Ladies-Only Gym Category:Gyms_and_Health_Clubs

Ladies-Only Gym Category:Gyms_and_Health_Clubs (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

So, I’ve taken to working out at home. I’ve been debating starting a workout program like P90x, Insanity, Body Revolution, etc. There seemed to be so many choices out there. I haven’t been working out recently so I needed something that was going to be modifiable based on fitness level and ideally something that didn’t take too much time or equipment.

Well, today is my first day of TurboFire!

TurboFire, is one of Beachbody’s programs (a mega dvd based workout company). Chalene Johnson heads up a 90 day cardio conditioning program which focuses on High Intensity Interval Training (HIIT). I’ve done some of her TurboJam videos and they’re very dance focused and time went by quickly. I know these will be more challenging, but I’m hoping that they’re still something I can look forward to. Or, let’s be honest, at least not dread. The videos, or “classes” seem to be 10 and 55 minutes and they give you a recommended schedule of which classes to do each day. There’s one rest day each week.

The series also comes with a nutrition guide. I plan on looking through it for some healthy recipes and ideas but otherwise won’t be following it.

My goals for the next 90 days:

1: Complete TurboFire

2: Drink at least 64oz of water a day

3. Plan meals for the week on Sunday’s*

*-I might not always follow what is planned, but I want to make an effort to at least set aside some time one day a week to think through the week ahead. I’m hoping this will keep me from eating out so much!

Have any of you ever done a workout series? If so, which one?

4 Responses to “Today I Start TurboFire!”

  1. fixingtobefit July 15, 2012 at 11:55 am #

    I have done the Jillian Michael’s 30 Day Shred. It is intense enough to modify as long as you keep going. I didn’t see much weight loss in the program, but did notice muscle tone. Unfortunately you would have to do this more than 30 days to get the results we all want. I hope you succeed with Turbofire! Don’t give up, just give it 100%!

    • SweetAccountability July 15, 2012 at 2:48 pm #

      You’re right– there’s no magic work out, we’ve got to keep working out hard beyond the 30, 90, or whatever set number of days.

      I tried 30 Day Shred once– only did the workout once or twice and then I got sick of doing the same thing everyday. I’m hoping Turbofire has enough variety to keep me interested. I guess we’ll find out!

      Thanks for the positivity and for stopping by!

  2. SpottedJotter July 15, 2012 at 5:41 pm #

    I tried Insanity. It was a huge hit to my ego. Huge.

    • SweetAccountability July 16, 2012 at 8:37 pm #

      Ah, I was toying around with that one but decided to wait until I’m in a little better shape. It looks so intense.

Leave a Reply

