Sneak Eating… It Still Counts!

14 Jul

As long as I can remember, I’ve been sneaking that extra piece of candywhen no one was watching.

After all, if no one saw you eat it, then it didn’t count, right? Somehow, when left un-examined, that made sense to me.

But, the truth is, that extra goodie matters.

But why should it matter? It that moment, there’s nothing I want more than that sugar rush.

I need to be accountable to me.

Yes, no one is there judging you as you reach for the second cookie, or fifth, or fifteenth. But, your body still counts it.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying to not eat any cookies or jelly beans ever again. I’m just saying that when you do, do it consciously. Enjoy it. Savor it. Be present in that moment, for yourself, even if no one else is there.

I promise you that if you do, you’ll enjoy it so much more and won’t walk away wondering “why did I just eat that?” thirty seconds later.   We can be our own worst critics, but at the same time we can do thinks so mindlessly– before we even think. This mindless eating, out of sadness, boredom, habit is at the heart of so many of my issues with food. I think, if I can work on being more present when I’m eating (even if I’m the only one there) then I can begin to tackle this. One bite at a time. (Even if that bite is a cookie!)

Do you ever eat mindlessly? Do you ever sneak snacks… what kind? Chocolate is my downfall!

5 Responses to “Sneak Eating… It Still Counts!”

  1. theskinnygirlproject July 14, 2012 at 7:32 pm #

    Ahhhh sugar – my fateful foe – this is so me. And in the past, sugar has usually won!

    • SweetAccountability July 14, 2012 at 7:47 pm #

      Why is it so delicious? I’ve been trying to turn to fruits or other more natural sugar rushes instead, but you know, easier said than done!

      We’ll find a way!

      • theskinnygirlproject July 19, 2012 at 10:03 am #

        No idea – I think personally it’s a combination of a physiological craving related to insulin resistance and the emotional tie I must have – it always makes me feel better!

  2. katibell August 9, 2012 at 2:00 pm #

    With you on this! “I’ve blown it now so I may as well finish the bar/pack/box etc”. I have to keep reminding myself this isn’t like a weight loss diet where you can just start again the next day/week/month. Everything counts!!!

    • SweetAccountability August 18, 2012 at 8:32 pm #

      Everything counts so that also means every moment is a brand new chance to make a healthy choice. 🙂

Leave a Reply

