Accountable Sunday: Week 1 TurboFire & Results

22 Jul

Time to look on the week that’s passed and to plan for the week ahead.

I made it through week one of TurboFire. I did six days (with the one scheduled rest day) as planned– mixing up the order a bit based on how much time I had that day to work out. Week one workouts vary in length from a 15 minute high intensity interval training to longer 55 minute cardio workout. I’m proud of myself for sticking it out even when it was the last thing in the world I wanted to do. I also ate better than usual and upped my water intake.

Weight and height are used in computing body m...

(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Unfortunately, my weight went up. I’m a little frustrated, but I know that a million things come into play with what shows up on that scale. So, I’m just going to keep on going. I know working out and eating healthy is the best thing I can do for my body right now and eventually the weight has to go down, right? Going from not working out at all to such an intense workout might have my body in shock. Or something. I’m not going to get worked up about it yet. Hopefully next week is better!  I have to remember, the scale is only one way to measure progress and I know I’m moving in the right direction (even if the scale said otherwise!). Have you ever gained after you started working out?

Today, we went to see The Dark Knight at the theaters. Tips on how to make your trip to the movie theater as healthy as possible to come tomorrow, so check back for that. More detail about this weeks workouts can be found below:

This week I did:

  • Sunday: Fire 30
  • Monday: HIIT 15
  • Tuesday: Fire 30
  • Wednesday: Core 20
  • Thursday: Rest Day
  • Friday: HIIT 15
  • Saturday: Fire 55 EZ

I’m learning the routines and I think my second time around with each of the workouts I’ll be able to put more into it since I’m a little more familiar with the moves. I’ve got to say though, I could still feel the Core 20 ab work out three days later!

7 Responses to “Accountable Sunday: Week 1 TurboFire & Results”

  1. KaraLoraine July 25, 2012 at 11:43 am #

    Don’t be discouraged by initial weight gain! Are you tracking your inches as well? That’s a much better way to gauge how your body is changing. A pound is a pound, be it muscle or fat, but muscle does take up less space than fat. Check out this article by Chalene about gaining weight when you start a new program:

    https://www.turbokick.com/wblog/?p=709

    And it’s a wonderful idea to move around workouts to what fits your schedule! So many people will just skip it completely if they don’t have time and just fall behind instead of rearranging because “today said to do THIS not THAT.” Doing it “out of order” is better than doing nothing! :)

    • SweetAccountability July 25, 2012 at 10:08 pm #

      You’re right, thanks so much. I’m tracking inches but once a month rather than weekly. I’m looking forward to seeing how they look in a couple weeks. And, thanks so much for the link to the article! Spot on.

      • CoachMandyThomas July 26, 2012 at 10:02 am #

        So many times we think this darn weight just needs to fall off and when it doesn’t we get so mad. This is my biggest struggle but I have to remember it didn’t take 2 weeks to put it on so it will definately take longer to take it off! I track all my food, exercise, weight loss, measurements on http://www.myfitnesspal.com. If you have a droid or iphone you can download an app to your phone! Look me up if you want my user name is: tru2rt

  2. CoachMandyThomas July 25, 2012 at 2:46 pm #

    Gaining weight is really ok after just starting to workout because you are gaining more muscle from working out. You more than likely lost water weight but gained muscle weight. Congrats on sticking with it!

    • SweetAccountability July 25, 2012 at 10:06 pm #

      Thanks for the positivity! I appreciate it. I know if I keep working hard eventually my body will change. You know, sometimes it just frustrating having to be so patient. :)

  3. fixingtobefit July 25, 2012 at 9:51 pm #

    Just curious, are you eating the plan that goes with the Turbo Fire workouts or are you doing your own? Just make sure your burning more calories than you are consuming, otherwise it won’t work. Same thing happened to me and I did extra cardio to burn more calories and the pounds started to come off. Keep going and don’t lose heart! Inches come of faster than weight!

    • SweetAccountability July 25, 2012 at 9:58 pm #

      Thanks for the tip. I’m not following the meal plan that comes with the workouts– I work with a nutritionist actually. But, I think I need to more carefully track my calories to make sure that I’ve got a good ratio burned vs. consumption going on. Slowly but surely!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 81 other followers

